Board Members

Denis Eudier - Chairman of the Board

Denis Eudier graduated from the Ecole des Mines de Saint-Etienne. He began his career with Esso in 1983 as an Engineer at the Port Jerome refinery. In 1986, he joined Rhodia (formerly Rhone-Poulenc) and took on multiple operating positions.

He then later occupied the position as Director of Business Unit at Polyamide Intermediates in Sao Paulo (Brazil) and Vice President of Operations "Life Science Systems."

He joined the AREVA group in 2002 as Deputy Director of the La Hague plant and became Director of AREVA La Hague in 2005. In May 2009, he became Director of the Fuel Manufacturing (FMBU) Business Unit Manager and Fuel FBFC.

In February 2011, he became Chief Executive Officer in charge of ensuring the permanent cessation of operations at EURODIF factory. He was appointed Director of the entity and Installed Base France, in the Reactors & Services Business Group since 01st September 2012.

Willie Zeelie - Executive Director of Group Five Engineering & Construction

Willie Zeelie is Executive Director of Group Five Engineering & Construction business as well as being a member of the Group’s Executive Committee. Offices are based in Bryanston, Johannesburg.
Before joining Group Five, Zeelie spent 22 years in the Electrical Engineering Field primarily involved in the generation, transmission and distribution of power systems.

Zeelie Joined GEC South Africa in 1988. He was appointed as the Engineering Manager of their power systems business. This business was later acquired by Alstom.

1995 saw him move to Reyrolle Switchgear as Engineering and Product Director. This electrical distribution business was later acquired by ABB where Zeelie was appointed Assistant Vice President PTMV.

Group Five Engineering and Construction offers turnkey EPC design and construction solutions in the oil and gas, power, water, mining and industrial sectors with key focus in Africa, Eastern Europe and the Middle East.

Zeelie received a PR Tech Engineering (Electrical Heavy Current) qualification and is a member of the Engineering Council of South Africa, South African Institute of Electrical Engineers as well as a member of the Institute of Directors.


Jayendra Naidoo - CEO, J&J Group

Jayendra Naidoo is the co-founder of the J&J Group and Executive Chairman.

Between 1981 and 1994 Jayendra was a Trade Union leader, serving as the national Negotiations Co-ordinator for the Congress of SA Trade Unions (“COSATU”) between 1992 and 1994. He led the ANC Alliance team in 1991 in negotiating the National Peace Accord the forerunner of the country’s constitutional negotiating process.

He was a leading member of the various multi-party peace initiatives that COSATU was involved in, such as the Natal Joint Working Committee in 1985, the National Peace Committee in 1991 and the National Peace Secretariat in 1992. As COSATU Negotiations Co-ordinator he was responsible for the establishment of the National Economic Forum (“NEF”) in 1992, the country’s first-ever tripartite forum for socio economic matters.

Between 1995 and 1998 Jayendra became the first Executive Director of the National Economic Development and Labour Council (NEDLAC). He participated in several governments’ related initiatives, including the selection panel appointed by President Mandela to shortlist members to serve on the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Since 2000, he has been the CEO of the J&J Group.

Francis Carruthers - CEO, Lesedi Nuclear Services

- Assistant Production Manager and Work Study Engineer in the Packaging Industry
- Estimator for an oil tank manufacturing company
- Pipeline surveyor in the Petrochemical Industry

He immigrated to South Africa in 1977 and worked for three years as a Shift Engineer/Manager for Eskom at Kriel and Matla Power Stations.

He then relocated to Cape Town in 1980 and spent four years working with Framatome(now AREVA) at Koeberg Nuclear Power Station as a Start Up and Commissioning Engineer. On successful completion he transferred back to Eskom, at Koeberg, where he managed the first three refueling outages.

In 1988 he left Eskom and took up the position of Managing Director and major shareholder in Intens, a fledgling service engineering company which he grew into a successful engineering and project management organisation.

Following this, Francis teamed up with Eric McDonald in 2000 to establish Lesedi Engineering; a company which was eventually merged with AREVA NP in 2001 to form Lesedi Nuclear Services. AREVA NP had 45% shareholding, leaving the remaining 55% with local shareholders, including Francis and Eric. Since 2001, Lesedi has been AREVA’s localisation partner for outage services and plant upgrades at Koeberg Nuclear Power Station.
AREVA increased its shareholding by 6% in 2006, ending-up with a majority control in Lesedi. Since then, Lesedi has worked hard to increase its industrial footprint, a move which provided financial sustainability and enabled retention of key nuclear expertise.

In 2012, due to the growth of Lesedi within the industrial power generation market, a shareholding change was effected and resulted with the arrival of two new shareholders, Group Five - a multidisciplinary construction company - and the J&J Group - an empowerment investment holding and management company with a focus’ on power – including nuclear - generation. AREVA remains the main shareholder, while Group Five and J&J holding hold 16% each. The balance is held by local management.

Today, Francis is the CEO of Lesedi Nuclear Services, playing a pivotal role in power generation and has a passion for the nuclear industry, localisation and empowerment!

Lionel Trocado - Director: Engineering, Lesedi Nuclear Services

Lionel was born in Harare, Zimbabwe and educated at St George’s College. He qualified in 1983 as a BSc Mechanical Engineer from the University of Natal in Durban.

He started his career as an Engineer in training at Harmony gold Mine in the Free State and then left to join Anderson Mavor as a Project Engineer. Anderson Mavor manufactured a range of heavy-duty coal mining equipment, which included long wall shearers, track mounted arc wall machines and shuttle cars. Lionel was responsible for a range of equipment from design and development to final field-testing. He was then promoted to Acting Engineering Manager in charge of all design and development activities for the company.

In 1988 Lionel joined Fluor on contract and was sub-contracted to Koeberg Nuclear Power Station as a Design Engineer in the Design and specification Group. He then worked for a short period in Zambia on contract working as a Piping engineer on the refurbishment of an ammonia plant near Lusaka.

Lionel joined Intens on returning from Zambia in 1991. He initially managed the Equipment Division, which supplies heavy-duty maintenance equipment to the transport industry. He then moved to the Engineering Division of Intens and worked at Koeberg Nuclear Power Station on contract in various operational departments and on specific projects, including the 10-yearly Safety Reassessment of Koeberg, PRA Customisation Project, System Engineering, Safety Related Surveillance Manual Project, Upgraded Technical Specifications Project and Ops Procedures Backlog Project.

Lionel joined Lesedi Nuclear Services in 2001 as the Project Engineer; he is now the Engineering Director managing the design and drawing office, including 40 engineers and technicians of various disciplines. Some of the major projects he has been involved in at Lesedi include the Open Cycle Gas Turbine projects (OCGT and Gas1), various modifications for Koeberg Nuclear Power Station, and the design and construction of the low pressure services for the Medupi Power Station